More incumbents swept out in Washington County Commission races


Wolfe loses GOP committeeman race, Arnold wins judgeship

Tony Clark re-elected as attorney general

By Scott Robertson

Former Unicoi County Sheriff Kent Harris surprised Jonesborough Mayor Kelly Wolfe in the race for GOP Committeeman by a tally of 12,797 to 12,099, according to unofficial results posted on the State of Tennessee’s election website. Wolfe defeated Harris in Washington County, 7,594 to 6,999 in a race that also includes Unicoi and Carter counties.
In the First District county commission race, Rick Storey was the top vote-getter, with Greg Matherly and Pete Speropulos taking the other two seats, though Speropulos will have to resign as soon as his term begins, having moved out of the district.
In the Second District county commission race, incumbents Skip Oldham and Sam Humphreys won re-election, while Robbie McGuire took 80 more votes than Joe Sheffield to take the third seat in the district.
Larry England, Mitch Meredith and Joe Wise easily took the District 3 seats over Sam Phillips and Ted Ganger.
Independent newcomer Katie Baker was the top vote-getter in the Fourth District, joining incumbents David Tomita and Lee Chase. Incumbent Phyllis Corso finished 43 votes out of the running behind Chase.
Republicans Gary McAllister and Robbie Tester won the two District Five seats, defeating Nancy Fischman, who ran as an independent but won Committeewoman status as a Democrat.
In the Sixth District the “Two Toms and a Joe” ticket, Tom Krieger, Tom Foster and Joe Grandy won handily.
Incumbents Mark Larkey and Mike Ford will be joined by Bryan Davenport in the Seventh.
Incumbent Steven Light came from behind to retain his seat in District Eight, where he will be joined by newcomer Matthew Morris.
Danny Edens and Todd Hensley took the two seats in District Nine over incumbent David Shanks, who announced midway between the May primary and this election that he was ceasing his campaign.
Forrest Boreing defeated incumbent Richard Matherly by a two-to-one margin in District 10.
In the attorney general race, incumbent Tony Clark easily beat independent challenger Dan Smith by an almost two-to-one margin.
Don Arnold handily won the General Sessions Judge Part III race over Stephanie Sherwood.
Incumbent school board member Chad Williams lost his seat by 16 votes to Annette Buchanan, who is joined by Keith Ervin and Jack Leonard representing district one.
Clarence Mabe, Mike Masters and David Hammond, Jr. took the district three school board seats.

About Author

Comments are closed.