Johnson City Schools honors first Hall of Fame class

Bonnie Sampson (second from right) receives her Hall of Fame award from Johnson City Schools superintendent Dr. Steve Barnett (right) during a ceremony held at Science Hill High School last Saturday. Sampson was part of the inaugural Johnson City Schools Hall of Fame class. PHOTO BY COLLIN BROOKS
Guy Mauldin (center), who retired at the end of the 2018-19 school year following a distinguished teaching career, accepts his Johnson City Schools Hall of Fame award from superintendent Dr. Steve Barnett during a ceremony at Science Hill last Saturday.
Callie Redd, a graduate of Langston High School and a longtime teacher in the Johnson City School System, was honored during the event. PHOTOS BY COLLIN BROOKS
Accompanied by her family, Lottie Ryans (second from right), receives her Hall of Fame award
Johnson City Mayor Jenny Brock was among the members of the inaugural hall of fame class.
William Coleman was one of 20 people honored in the inaugural hall of fame class, which spanned from the 1800s through the present day.

Last Saturday, a ceremony was held on the campus of Science Hill High School to welcome the inaugural class of honorees into the Johnson City Schools Hall of Fame.

While Science Hill has had an athletic hall of fame for a number of years, this new hall of fame is designed to honor the teachers, students, administrators, staff members and community contributors who have helped advance the cause of education in Johnson City. The inaugural class consisted of 20 members spanning the history of the city, ranging from LeRoy Reeves, who graduated in 1893, to Guy Mauldin, who retired at the conclusion of the 2018-19 school year.

Among the legacy honorees, those who either graduated or retired prior to 1970, were Jenny Brock, George Biddle, William Coleman Jr., Dr. Hezekaiah B. Hankal, LeRoy Reeves, William Rhea, Homer Pease and Steve Spurrier. Those who graduated between 1971 and 2000 made up the Tradition honorees – Paul Christman, Wyck Godfrey, Katheryn “Kat” Peeler, Callie Redd, Lottie Ryans and Rodney Sturtz.

Dr. John Boyd, George Carver, Evelyn Dugger, Guy Mauldin, Bonnie Sampson and Joan Lincoln Swingle made up the Modern honorees, those who retired or graduated after 2001.

Last Saturday’s ceremony took place in the Science Hill Auditorium, and a reception followed in the Grand Topper Hall.


About Author

Comments are closed.