Johnson City Schools announces District-Level Teachers of the Year

Morgan Rankin

Johnson City Schools is proud to announce our 2021-2022 District-Level Teachers of the Year. These teachers were honored by their schools as building teachers of the year before being selected by a district-wide committee that included former teachers of the year and administrators.  

South Side Elementary teacher Morgan Rankin was selected as the PreK-4 division winner, while Liberty Bell teacher Haley Reynolds won the grades 5-8 division. The 9-12 division winner was Science Hill teacher Sandy Babel. 

Sandy Babel

“We are proud of all of our Teacher of the Year nominees and our district-level winners,” Johnson City Schools Superintendent Dr. Steve Barnett said. “These educators epitomize the best of what Johnson City Schools is; a great learning environment with committed educators. We are proud and thankful for their service and dedication.” 

The elementary school building level winners included Erika Patterson (Cherokee), Jenny Seeley (Fairmont), Angie Smith (Lake Ridge), Jenny Greer (Mountain View), Julie Vermillion (North Side), Yolanda Miller (Towne Acres) and Jordan Dison (Woodland). 

Haley Reynolds

At the middle grade level, the winners included Indian Trail teachers Lisa Messimer, Robert Grunder and Brandie Wishon Sanchez. Other building level winners from Liberty Bell included Aleta Compton and Kelsey Walker. 

The Science Hill building level winners included Beth Brading, Rachel Brouillette, Heather Conner, Christina Miller and Jeff Price.

Preview image by Julia M Cameron


About Author

Comments are closed.